Road Trip Route: Fall 2009

21 10 2009

This year’s fall road trip was exciting.  Over the course of five days we spent many hours in the car (almost 30), but the sights, people and FOOD were worth every second, including the horrifying experience of hydroplaning down the highway! Leaving Jacksonville we headed west on I-10 only to make a right on I-75 and move through Atlanta for our first stop in Chattanooga.  The route moves up through Nashville to Memphis and ends in Oxford, only for us to turn and come back the exact same way but we made a detour to Athens.  As Ginger mentioned we will be taking you with us as we reminisce about our trip and share some of our favorite things. 

Fall Road Trip Route 2009





Like Buttah!

21 10 2009

Deep%20Fried%20Butter_h2

Ok, these are the reasons we Southerners get a bad name, but somebody tell me this doesn’t look delicious.

It’s that fall time of the year. Time for visits to the apple orchard, picking out pumpkins, and state fairs.

And Dallas-native Abel Gonzales Jr. is at it again (he’s the guy who invented such delicasies as fried cookie dough and fried Coke. This year, he’s dreamed up fried butter.

I mean, we’d all have to eat salads for a month, but I would love to get my hands on a pipping hot ball of fried butter!





Stories from the Back Porch

21 10 2009

I know y’all know, but I love nothing more than a fun blog. It’s kinda like stepping into someone else’s life for a day. We’ve made some good friends along the way.

Now one of my favorites, Brooke, from Playing Grown Up has a new blog, Stories from the Back Porch. Doesn’t get any more Southern than spinnin’ a yarn out back.

So, pour yourself a glass of sweet tea, take that laptop out onto the back porch, and amuse yourself with a story or two.