Country Jukebox Playlist

27 05 2013

Image

Tomorrow, I’m heading to one of my favorite southern cities, Birmingham, to see my college roommate. So I needed a little Southern road trip music. Usually I leave the territory of country music to Mr. SIT, but I’m always in the mood for a little classic country when I drive. Inspired by one of my favorite podcasts, Dr. Russell Moore’s The Cross and the Jukebox, I picked a few of his suggested tunes to get my drive started off right.

I thought I’d share my picks so that you can sing along on your summer vacation. Here they are…

1. “Ring of Fire” by Johnny Cash

2. “He Stopped Loving Her Today” by George Jones

3. “Highway 20 Ride” by the Zac Brown Band

4. “American Pie” by Don McLean

5. “That’s What I Love About Sunday” by Craig Morgan

6. “Lay You Down” by Conway Twitty

7. “God Bless the USA” by Lee Greenwood

8. “Long Time Gone,” by the Dixie Chicks

9. “Man in Black” by Johnny Cash

10. “A Boy Named Sue,” by Johnny Cash

11. “Beer for My Horses,” by Toby Keith and Willie Nelson

12. “The Times They Are a-Changin’,” by Bob Dylan

13. “Okie from Muskogee,” by Merle Haggard

14. “Your Cheatin’ Heart” by Hank Williams

15. “Sweet Home Alabama” by Lynyrd Skynrd

16. “(We’re Not) The Jet Set” by George Jones and Tammy Wynette

17. “Red Ragtop” by Tim McGraw

18. “Reasons Why I Cheat” by Randy Travis

19. “A Pirate Looks at Forty” by Jimmy Buffett

20. “It Wasn’t His Child” by Trisha Yearwood

Where in the South are you going this summer? And what are your favorite tunes to bring along?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

