When a Man Loves a Woman

23 04 2012

We’ve got love on the brain this week. One half of this blog is getting her own Mr. SIT this weekend. That’s right, Becky is getting married! And I’m so excited I’m getting to travel back to Florida for the sacred occasion, so I’ve been listening to my favorite love songs in honor of her upcoming nuptials.

I remember the first time I heard When a Man Loves a Woman by Percy Sledge. Every Wednesday night when I was a kid, my family and I sat down after we got home from church to watch The Wonder Years. It’s still my all time favorite show, but I so specifically remember that episode where Kevin first kisses Wendy. I fell in love right then — with the song, that is.

File:When a Man Loves a Woman cover.jpg

This soulful song, turns out, was recorded in the South, at Norala Sound Studio in Alabama. Turns out, before the recording session, the melody had been written, but Mr. Sledge improvised those classic lyrics. Magic.

Take a listen if you haven’t recently. I love how romantic it is to think a man would “turn his back on his best friend if he put her down.”

P.S. — Because of all the great music used in the episodes, The Wonder Years has never been released onto DVDs. But, you can watch them right now on Netflix!

Actions

Information

One response

23 04 2012
Ally Garner

Our reception was a mix of Beach Music & 50’s Doo Wop. Leading up to our big day that’s all I could listen to! And Percy Sledge was/still is a fave 🙂 Here’s my Gettin’ Hitched Playlist in case you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

