Food Friday: Turnips

14 10 2011

I remember my first encounter with turnips. Molly wouldn’t eat her mashed turnips, so Mrs. McIntire fried them up with sugar, butter, and cinnamon, and I thought they sounded heavenly.

Well, after my encounter at age seven or so, I forget about turnips. But turnips are a wonderful vegetable. This purple-topped veggie has a light, sweet taste that make them perfect in soups, stews, salad, or even … as Mrs. M did, mashed.

  • Turnips are a wonderful source of vitamin C.
  • Look for small, heavy turnips that are firm.
  • Turnip greens should be removed before storing in a cool, dark place.
  • Wash and dry the greens, then store in a sealed plastic bag in the refrigerator for up to three days.
  • Smaller turnips can be simply cooked whole, while larger should be peeled and quartered or chopped before cooking.

We Southerners are well familiar with turnip greens, but here are a few ideas to include the root in your dinner.

  • For mashed turnips, boil or steam them, then mash or puree.
  • Cubed turnips are also great in a sautee with other veggies.
  • Chop turnips and include in a soup, stew, or add crunch to salads.
  • Double the turnip flavor by tossing a salad of the greens and julienned turnips.

And just for fun, which American Girl were you?

Actions

Information

One response

14 10 2011
Ally Garner

I grew up eating turnips whether i wanted to or not (thanks Mom!) and as an adult, I love them! Mashed turnips are one of my fave side dishes.

And if I had to pick an American Doll I’d pick Kit. My god-daughter has a Kit doll and I’ve spent a small fortune over the years on all of Kit’s insanely expensive accessories, haha. So Kit owes me 😉

Leave a Reply

