Michael Lee West: Gone with a Handsomer Man

1 06 2011

Well, y’all… it’s the un-official start of summer. Memorial Day has come and gone, and we can all take a collective deep breath, and let the slower days of summer wash over us.

I don’t know about you, but I’m sure glad the pace slows a little bit for just a few months. I’ve got some friends to catch up on, some places I wanna go, and some books to read!

Click the book to buy from Amazon!

First on my list for this summer reading was a book by a great Southern author, Michael Lee West. I was privileged to be given a copy of her newest book out, Gone With a Handsomer Man.

And let me tell you, I was delighted. I tore through it in only two days. Full of Southern charm, a great story, and a host of likeable and interesting characters — Gone with a Handsomer Man was just the perfect start for my summer reading list.

The story follows Tenny as she comes home early from her cake decorating class and unexpectedly catches her fiance playing a little badminton with a couple of, shall we say, less-than-completely dressed girls.

When said fiance turns up dead a few days later, who do you think the prime suspect is? Yes, that’s right… the scorned woman. But, around that same time, Teeny runs into her former boyfriend, who just happens to be a lawyer willing to take on her case and her crazies in the meantime.

I’d be a really bad book critic, because I more often like books than not. Mostly, I just love to read about anything, but if I’m not liking it by fifty or so pages in, I just don’t finish it. There are too many good books out there. So, there’s my little secret. But if I do have to give my honest opinion — the good with the bad, my only complaint here is there’s just a little bit of language in here that I know any Southern lady knows better than to use. Momma taught us better.

But now that’s just a side note. Let your little eyes ignore those things momma told us not to say, and enjoy this Southern story. Like a girlier, sexier John Grisham novel, Gone with a Handsomer Man is the perfect way to kick of your summer reading list. Pack a beach bag, throw in any of Michael Lee West’s novels, and kick back for some pure reading enjoyment.

Then come on back tomorrow. Not only can we heartily recommend her writing, Ms. West was kind enough to take some time out of her busy writing schedule to do a little question and answer time with us here at Sweet Iced Tea. Then, we’ll be sharing recipes, and other reads from this Southern author!

It’s Michael Lee West week here at Sweet Iced Tea! What are some of your planned or favorite summer reads?

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 06 2011
Ally Garner

Ooh, Michael Lee West is writing mysteries now? Love it! She’s a terrific writer. I’ve only read 3 of her books, but loved each of them. Thanks for the heads up-getting it for my kindle tonight!

As for books i’m hoping to read this summer, The Paris Wife tops the list. Also intend to read The Bird Sisters, The Inheritance Of Beauty and Bloodroot. I just finished The Help, by the lovely Katharyn Stockett , another great Southern author. It was fabulous! Can’t wait to see the movie soon.

Btw, have you Ladies checked out GoodReads? It’s a great social media for book lovers. You should check it out!

2 06 2011
Ally Garner

Just thought i’d pass this along: I noticed in Deep South mag that Michael Lee West is on twitter now (https://twitter.com/MichaelLeeWest) and she started a blog for Teeny Templeton to promote the book (http://teenytempleton.blogspot.com/). This will make reading the book all the more fun. What a savvy Lady!

2 06 2011
Ginger

Yes! Thanks, Ally for the recs. Let us know how you like GWAHM. Paris Wife is on my summer reading list too… I love Hemingway, or anything associated with him. Can’t wait to check out those others on my Kindle! We loved The Help here. Have you heard there’s a movie in the works?

I’m excited to know Ms. West is on Twitter and the bloggy world as well. I just loved Teeny as a character. We’ll have to follow her! You can follow SIT at SweetIceTea if you want and let us know if you’re a tweet tweeter!

2 06 2011
Ally Garner

Oh, i’ve been following y’all on twitter since i found your blog! I’m one of your followers ( @allyugadawg) btw.

The interview with Mrs. West was splendid! She is so fun-love that Teeny has a playlist 🙂

Thanks so much for these great posts Ladies! Looking forward to sharing more great books over the summer.

3 06 2011
Ginger

Aw… thanks! We can’t wait to share more fun Southern reads and stuff!

5 06 2011
Michael Lee West: Teeny Templeton’s Kitchen Diary « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] Templeton (if you don’t know how she is, well then, you’re just gonna have to read Gone With a Handsomer Man, as we suggested!) give us a few recipes from her cookbook. Food plays a large part in […]

Leave a Reply

