Pimento Cheese Heaven

2 05 2011

I must admit that never in my life had I made pimento cheese, but this weekend in honor of the Royal Wedding, I attended a wine and cheese party and decided to bring pimento cheese.  A couple other varieties were on display as well, and we had ourselves a nice little tasting party.

This recipe I borrowed from Eatocracy, via John Currance from City Grocery Restaurant Group in Oxford, Mississippi.  I changed things up a bit and used Cabot white cheddar instead of havarti, and chipotle Tabasco instead of the regular variety. We were also out of cayenne pepper so I used a bit of chili powder and ground red pepper flakes. 

Grocery List:

Yield – ¾ gallon (which is a heck of a lot. You can half everything for a normal sized amount)

4 cups shredded cheddar

4 cups shredded white cheddar ( I used Cabot brand)

12 ounces cream cheese (let it soften before using)

1 ½ cups bread and butter pickles, minced

¾ cup pickle juice

2 teaspoons cayenne (or ground chili powder and red pepper flakes as substitute)

2 tablespoons chipotle Tabasco

1 cup pimentos, drained and minced

¾ cup mayonnaise

Salt and pepper to taste.

Directions:

Combine your cheeses, mayo, pickle juice and Tabasco in food processor until it is the consistency you want.  I took the hand burr mixer to mince the pickles and pimentos and then added them to the cheese mixture in a large bowl.

Refrigerate for a few hours before using for a harder consistency.  At least, that is what I prefer, but once you make it, it is your own!

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 05 2011
Ally Garner

A pimento cheese tasting? Oh my. I fear i would’ve made a pig of myself haha. How delicious! And thank you for the recipe. I love the addition of the chili powder and especially the bread & butter pickles. Can’t wait to try this!

2 05 2011
southrnsuga

Yes, I will feature another recipe from the party in a month or so, but it is so decadent that truly it should be saved for holidays and special occasions.

6 05 2011
Jacquelyn

I love pimento cheese on everything 🙂 It’s an addiction! I’ll have to make this recipe- thanks for sharing! The farm families who own Cabot appreciate your support 🙂
~Jacquelyn

Leave a Reply

