Broccoli Salad

30 04 2011

Mayonnaise. I have a love and hate relationship with this condiment. My upbringing tells me that I should love and cherish such a food enhancer, but for whatever reason, we will call it good taste, I prefer my food not to swim in a sea of mayo.  Examples of such dishes include ambrosia, where your weeping fruit combined with mayonnaise makes for a runny mess. I pass on this during Thanksgiving.  Another dish often condemned to spoonfuls of mayonnaise is broccoli salad.  This seems to be a side item for lunches across the south and so often I order it at restaurants hoping for a breakthrough, but alas, there is none. My southern friends all seem to love it and I hate to think I am the only one secretly loathing the thought of that much mayo, so I am here to share with you my sister’s recipe.

Grocery List:

1/4 cup Mayo

1/2 Lemon Juice Squeezed

Salt and Pepper

1 TBS Thyme chopped

8 Cups Broccoli, blanched

1/2 Cup Carrots thinly sliced and blanched

1/2 Cup chopped bacon

1/3 Cup Craisins or Golden Raisins

Directions:

Blanch your broccoli until tender, but not mushy (cook for two minutes, remove with strainer and immediately place into an icy water bath). Saving your boiling water, also blanche your carrots. Leave in ice bath until cool.

In a separate bowl whisk your lemon juice, mayo, thyme and salt and pepper to taste. This will be your dressing.

Add your bacon, raisins, broccoli, carrots and dressing. Add more salt and pepper if needed.  If for whatever reason you do not feel like the dressing is enough, by all means, add more mayonnaise!!!

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 04 2011
Ally Garner

Could not agree more! I like mayo, but am not a fan of dishes swimming in the condiment.

This looks like a delicious recipe-thank you very much for sharing! I think i might like to chop up the broccoli a bit though. And i wonder how it would taste with a little shredded carrot as well. Hmm… i might just have to make this for Sunday lunch.

I truly enjoy your blog, Ladies. I rarely comment, but read every post & always look forward to seeing you pop up in my reader and in my twitter stream. Thank you again!

2 05 2011
southrnsuga

Thanks so much for the comment! We truly appreciate it and I think the week is already looking up on this Monday morning.

2 05 2011
Ally Garner

Amen to that. May our gracious God continue to bless America and protect our heroic Troops!! Have a wonderful week Ladies 🙂

1 05 2011
Great Recipes For Salad | Cool Cooking Recipes

[…] Brocco&#108&#105&#32Salad « Sweet Iced Tea […]

Leave a Reply

