Southern Islands Week: Dauphin Island

7 03 2011

One of the things I love most about the South are the distinctly southern islands. There’s nothing like the rustic beauty of some of our beautiful Southern islands. So this week, we’re going to explore just a few of the best loved of our coastal islands.

Let’s start off in Alabama, on Dauphin Island. I first heard of Dauphin Island when my much-cooler-than-me, interesting baby sister spent a spring break there in high school, working with some researchers exploring marine and wildlife there. I usually spent my spring breaks tucked away in Barnes & Nobel, so this was terribly exotic to me.

Dauphin Island is a beautiful island, located in the Gulf of Mexico, in Mobile, Alabama. This tiny island has a historic Civil War fort, a pier, restaurants, beaches, fishing spots, and green woods. But it’s perhaps best known for the Estuarium Aquarium, affiliated with the Dauphin Island Sea Lab, a marine research center.

Dauphin is a beautiful spot — full of history, family fun, and Southern charm. The perfect way to kick off our Southern Islands Week.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2011
Fawn Dacumos

Thanks for sharing…I enjoyed viewing at 5:30 this am.. gave me a great pick me up before beginning the day! 🙂

14 05 2012
Southern Islands: South Padre Island « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] check out last year’s Southern islands week featuring Dauphin Island, Jekyll Island, St. Simons Island, and Kiawah Island. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

