Tuesday Tip: Portion Sizes

11 01 2011

One of the biggest problems I often have is simply eating more than I really need. We live in the world of Sizes Super! So sometimes, I just plain forget to measure what I’m eating with a little common sense of what I realistically need to fuel myself. Here are a few little visual guides (with a little help from the American Dietetic Association).

  • one cup = averaged woman’s fist size
  • 1 1/2 cups = averaged man’s fist size
  • 3-ounce portion of meat, fish, or poultry (usually we only need a couple of servings of this per day) = deck of cards
  • 1 ounce of cheese = a pair of dice
  • 1 teaspoon peanut butter = size of a small grape
  • average bagel = size of a hockey puck
  • average muffin = size of a medium fist
  • medium potato = size of a computer mouse

Well, if you’re depressed you’ve been eating too much for a long time, you’re not alone. But just knowing what we’re putting into our bodies will help make us more aware, and we’ll feel much better in the end (and hey, I hate to say it, folks, but winter is here now, but beach season is coming)!

Actions

Information

One response

18 02 2011
Food Friday: Sprouts « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] go thinking I’ve gone all Californian on you — talking about eating light and portion controls. And now, with the sprouts! Hey, just today I made up a tray of something from Paula Deen I […]

Leave a Reply

