An Ode to Chick-fil-A

21 10 2010

Some of my predictions have rung true as we’ve passed the six month mark of being temporary West Coasters, but others have surprised me. I don’t think my family will ever understand my excitement upon getting my first mosquito bite last month when I was out in Kentucky for the last few days of summer. It’s funny what you miss.

But others haven’t surprised me at all. Almost every week at some point, I’d get that good old craving in my belly for the most delicious of fast-food that ever was — that is, Chick-fil-A. No more Original Chicken Sandwiches, no more perfectly breaded nuggets, no more Peppermint Shakes at Christmas, no more waffle fries dipped in bbq sauce, no more morning chicken biscuits. Tragedy! The nearest Chick-fil-A to me is four hours away!

I usually crave on Sunday. As Mr. SIT (Husband) and I were driving out to California, we hit somewhere in the vicinity of Arizona (I really don’t know where we were, as desert all started bleeding into each other after about day four). We saw an exit with a Chick-fil-a sign and virtually did a U-turn on the interstate to get there. We were so excited to see the parking lot was empty, thinking,”wow, we don’t even have to wait in line!” We should have known. Only to discover, that just as the scenery was one big blur, so were our days. Alas, our last hope for that juicy chicken sandwich with the perfect 2 pickles was closed on Sunday. While I completely support Chick-fil-A for this admirable decision to honor faith and family by resting on the Sabbath, I have never been so disappointed in my whole life. Still, we did get our first West Coast taste of the famous In ‘n’ Out burger that day, but it’s just not the same. (And no, love McD’s as I do… their “Southern-style” chicken sandwich just doesn’t cut it.)

Before we left, we had a chance not too long ago to visit the original Chick-fil-a restaurant in Georgia, and it was a treat. (You can even get deep fried pies at this location, but that’s a story for another day.) S. Truett Cathy started Beyond their delicious chicken, I most always receive such a warm, friendly face serving. From their trademark “my pleasure” greeting, to how friendly the staff is just to walk around and refill your drink (try getting that even standing at the counter at other fast food restaurants). And, a high school friend of mine once managed a Chick-fil-a in high school and says it’s one of the only places she’s ever worked at that she’ll still eat at. Their standards of quality product and cleanliness are high.

Chick-fil-a is a Southern institution. They are a great sponsor of college educations. They give scholarships to their employees to attend college, and have been official sponsor of the Peach Bowl since 1997. In most Southern cities, they’re part of the community. I’ve even heard (haven’t seen it yet), that there’s a billboard paying tribute to Gone with the Wind on I-75 in Atlanta.

My dad teases me that CFA is so addictive I’d make a fortune if I opened one up here out in Lotus Land. Well, I miss Doodles, but hopefully in a couple years we’ll end up right back in the beloved South, drinking sweet tea and being thankful Chick-fil-A invented the chicken sandwich!

Actions

Information

One response

6 02 2013
Five Things I Actually Missed « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] with Corky’s BBQ or Indi’s Fried Chicken. And I don’t even have to mention that famous sandwich I’m so fond of. I even missed Cracker Barrel, that staple of interstate driving I […]

Leave a Reply

