Tuesday Tip: Bread Crusts to Bread Crumbs

5 10 2010

Do your little ones hate the crusts on their sandwiches? If you’re in the habit of cutting of the crusts for their lunch preferrence, trim those off before putting on the other ingredients.

Store crusts and the ever-unpopular bread ends in a ziplock bag in the freezer, and next time your recipe calls for bread crumbs, you’ve only got to process the leftover ends and you have fresh bread crumbs ready to use!

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 10 2010
Suwannee Refugee

My wife takes the leftover bread and make pina colada bread pudding.

6 10 2010
southrnsuga

And you are going to make/share this recipe with us when? You need to be a guest blogger!

6 10 2010
Suwannee Refugee

Let me know work on that. When I get it, I’ll email it to you.

6 10 2010
southrnsuga

awesome!

11 10 2010
Rob O.

Not that I’m against using scraps for bread pudding, stuffing, or bread crumbs for other recipes, but I just can’t wrap my teensy brain around the ‘logic’ of cutting crusts at all. I actually just blogged about this myself a coupla days ago:

The Crust of the Matter

12 10 2010
Ginger

Agreed, Mr. O! I personally love the crusts! In fact, I’m one of those few that actually want the heels of the bread — more crust to bread ratio. 😉

5 03 2013
Tuesday Tip: Rolling Pin Bread Crumbs | Sweet Iced Tea

[…] to make bread crumbs in a hurry? Place dried-out bread in a large ziplock bag and roll away roll away roll […]

Leave a Reply

