Barton Springs

27 07 2010

It is summer, so I understand the concept of it being a bit warmer than the rest of the year, but is it just me or is it really, really hot this summer?  I am thinking it is warmer than usual.  This past weekend was hot, humid, and brought us no rain.  Pretty much, you have to stay in the shade, or in the AC, fill up on plenty of fluids and if possible, be close to a body of water. 

Luckily, I am close to the ocean, but this weekend I was dreaming of my recent trip to Barton Springs in Austin, Texas.  The springs are located in the city (no two hour haul required), and operated by the city.  For a three dollar fee you can enjoy naturally cold water, and sit in the shade on a grassy hill between your dips.  Lifeguards watch over you and the children to ensure your safety and there are even showers, and changing rooms available. 

I have visited many a mountain stream, rolling river, creeks, waterfalls, etc…in the south and this is topping the charts as one of my favorites.  There is nothing better than swimming in cold, cold water on a hot, hot day. 

Where are your favorite watering holes in the south?

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 08 2010
layne

Laying in the grass till you’re soppy-sweaty and can’t stand it anymore. Sloshing around in the springs till you’re too cold and can’t stand it anymore. Repeat. Go get tex-mex and a margarita at Chueys. Perfect day. Love Barton Springs.

3 08 2010
southrnsuga

Yep! That was pretty much my experience. Except I missed Chueys. I will have to put that on my list for the next trip.
Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

