The Allure of the Automobile

11 05 2010

A few weeks ago I made my first pilgrimage to the High Museum of Art in Atlanta, Georgia.  Katie was nice enough to be my guide and we were excited to see The Allure of the Automobile Exhibit

Turning sixteen in a beach town definitely influenced my dream car, which was, and truthfully still is an old Jeep Wagoneer.  Remember the kind with the old wood paneling and hatchback? Yes, that is the one.  I see refurbished ones now and then and they make me smile.  Other than the opportunity to own that old jeep, I am not much of a car person.  I appreciate my car, and I am happy that it works, but cars are just cars.

With that being said, I was overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of the cars on display in Atlanta.  Eighteen of the world’s rarest cars are on exhibit.  Many of which received first place prizes at the Concorde d’Elegance in Pebble Beach and one car was originally a gift to Clark Gable from his wife, Carole Lombard.   For $18 you can buy a ticket to the exhibit and have access to the entire museum.  Jay Leno, the famous car enthusiast that he is also provides more details about each automobile in the listening guides. 

I could envision a few of the cars appearing on episodes of Mad Men with January Jones behind the wheel, and others I could imagine myself rip roaring down the Italian coastline in Grace Kelly like manner.   Perhaps that is the beauty of cars and what the designers wanted you to imagine?  You see a car and are instantly taken to another place and time and when behind the wheel you can be anyone you want.  Maybe?  

No matter the original intent, the cars on display at the High are simply amazing.  I signed a waiver promising not to post my pictures but I did take a few good ones, and I am happy to share.  Feel free to email me if you would like some of the pictures.  Luckily, there are a few videos available to you on the museum’s website. 

Do I see a trip to Atlanta in your future? If you want to get to this exhibit, you should really hurry as it ends on June 20, 2010.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

