Donuts or Doughnuts?

23 04 2010

Whatever you call them, they are delicious, don’t you agree? I have an absolute weakness for the sweet little rings of pure calories. Many Saturday mornings as a child, we could talk Lady (my mom) into making us homemade donuts. Oh, my gracious. I can just taste the literally-melt-in-your mouth goodness!

And I always hoped I’d find a bracelet in the middle of one a la Homer Price. (Did you ever read that story as a child? If not, rush your little self down to the library immediately and do so!)

I can’t believe I’ve never made these for husband in the few years we’ve been married, but upon discovering this, I promised to remedy that this very weekend.

I’m a raised donut girl myself, but whether you like them leavened with yeast, or cake, they are all usually fried, and we all know how Southerners feel about fried foods. So, for today’s Food Friday, let’s talk about donuts! Then tomorrow, rustle yourself out of bed, and make a batch of these homemade treats. Your family will love you to pieces, and so with your own tastebuds.

Put the Dough in Doughnut

  • Find a recipe you like that has more egg yolk, proportionately. They’ll be lighter as they won’t absorb as much oil. You can also chill the dough beforehand to keep it from absorbing more oil. (I think this was Lady’s secret to light and fluffy donuts!)
  • Keep that dough soft. The softer the dough, the softer the doughnut!
  • Add a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, or citrus zest if you like to spice up a basic donut.
  • If you can, find one of those classic donut cutter that cuts the center hole right out of the donut. (Then you get those cute and delicious holes to fry too!) But if you can’t, get out one large and one small biscuit cutter (for that hole). This will fry them nice and evenly.

Fry ’em up!

  • Fill the pot only halfway with oil to allow for bubbles and a bit of spattering.
  • Get that oil temp just right. This is crucial. If the fat isn’t hot enough, the donuts will just turn out greasy. If it’s too hot, well, they’ll burn. You’ll want to get yourself a deep-fat thermometer for the accurate temperature.
  • Fry only a few at a time. Be patient! Overcrowd them and you’ll lower that oil temperature and produce those greasy donuts. Not nearly as yummy.
  • Quickly dip the donuts in boiling water immediately after frying to cut the grease. Use a slotted spoon to transfer the donuts from the oil to the water. Drain on paper towels.
  • Cool for about 10 minutes, then serve!

Glaze away, glaze away, glaze away!

  • You’ll want to glaze directly after, so the donuts are still warm.
  • There are several different methods — the sugar shake (place sugar and donuts in a  paper bag, shake gently), the sugar glaze (sugar, boiling water, vanilla), chocolate (melted chocolate, butter, sugar, vanilla, cream, a little orange if you like)…
  • But my favorite classic is the confectioner’s sugar glaze. Combine 1 cup confectioner’s sugar with just enough (usually 1 or 2 tablespoons) liquid (water, milk, juice, whatever you like) to make a smooth, creamy glaze. Yum yum yum! (We also used this confectioner’s sugar glaze for strawberries to serve along side often. The sweet richness of the donut paired with a little tart juice of a strawberry. Red mouths and cold glasses of milk. Mmm… right back to childhood.)
Actions

Information

4 responses

27 04 2010
Marybeth

Just stumbled upon your blog. Already dreaming of going to the strawberry farm so I can make some jam. But I thought I would share, when we were little, we made donuts too. My mother was no cook (all my home made meal memories are from my grandmother or the neighbors….) so we have a cheater donut recipe. We used to buy one of those rolls of biscuits from the grocery store and then take them, punch a hole in the middle, deep fry em, and sprinkle them with powdered sugar. This was sooo quick and easy. And while I am finally tyring to teach myself to cook, I’ve yet to gather the nerve to try making dough, so I thought I would share this tip for those who are fledgling cooks too!

27 04 2010
Ginger

Oh no! Now you’ve made making donuts easier on us! 🙂 That could be dangerous! Haha… just kidding… thanks, Marybeth!

30 04 2010
Breakfast Food: Doughnuts + Bacon = Bacon Doughnuts « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] in your fridge or freezer, and keep for just such occasions. Since we were already talking about donuts, I thought… why […]

21 01 2011
Food Friday: Smoothies « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] ingredient lists, sometimes you might as well have a donut. And while I’d rather eat a donut every morning, it just doesn’t stick with me for the most important meal of the […]

Leave a Reply

