Blue Suede Shoes

11 02 2010

As winter marches on (but spring is beginning to dawn!), nothing picks me up like a new pair of shoes.

I know I shouldn’t have, but I just couldn’t resist this ballet flats by my favorite and yours, J. Crew. (And a little “insider” tip from my sister, who spent her college years working as the best sales girl for J. Crew: their shoes are made by the same craftsmen that craft shoes for Dolce & Gabbana!!)

On this day, February 11th, in 1956, Elvis performed “Blue Suede Shoes for the first time on CBS’s Stage Show. While many folks recorded “Blue Suede Shoes” in 1956 (and the years following), Carl Perkins had also recorded “Blue Suede Shoes” at Sun Studios in Memphis and released it just a month before. The song hit #1 on February 18th, and remained there for 3 weeks. 

So I wear them today in honor of my beloved Elvis Presley who sang these words…

“Well, its one for the money,
Two for the show,
Three to get ready,
Now go, cat, go.”

Sing it with me now, people!

“But don’t you step on my blue suede shoes.
You can do anything but lay off of my blue suede shoes.

Well, you can knock me down,
Step in my face,
Slander my name
All over the place.”

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 05 2010
Shoe-nami « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] there is almost nothing better than a beautiful pair of shoes, well-crafted, that will wear the test of time throughout your life, sometimes, there is just […]

18 05 2010
Shoe-Nami « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] there is almost nothing better than a beautiful pair of shoes, well-crafted, that will wear the test of time throughout your life, sometimes, there is just […]

21 12 2010
Eleven Ladies Dancing « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] again. They’re just everywhere, but my favorite ballet flats are from J. Crew. (Y’all know.) These little pink numbers are my absolute favorite, but if you’re looking for something […]

Leave a Reply

