The Five Love Languages

10 02 2010

 

In grad school I read the book, “The Five Love Languages for Singles.” This book literally changed my life.  Never had I read such practical life applications.  The message of North Carolina author, Gary Chapman, is that there are five fundamental, God driven, love languages, including: words of affirmation, quality time, gift giving, acts of service, and physical touch.  

Everyone has a primary and a secondary love language.  For example, if you happened to be little ole’ me, you would have words of affirmation as your primary, followed up by quality time as a secondary.  Basically, I need words of affirmation in my life, backed up by quality time.  It is incredible.  Recognizing what you need emotionally in your life is eye opening.  More importantly, the application of The Five Love Languages points out that while you have your primary and secondary love languages, others do as well.  What is so fascinating is that most of the people in your life may or may not have the same primary love languages as you.  Resulting in our need to recognize their love language and not love them with ours.  This often takes practice and does not happen overnight. 

Example: I cannot love everyone with quality time and words of affirmation, because someone might need a small token of appreciation or a hug, or for me to take out the trash or mow the lawn, instead of expressing my love or appreciation verbally. 

The book points out that in our life we should strive to love others in all areas, not just our love languages.   This is now a life goal for me!

The Five Love Languages applies to all of the relationships in your life, whether work, home, church, friends and family. It is the most practical of life applications and the perfect gift for Valentine’s Day. Several editions exist including, singles, teenagers, married, men’s edition, and children.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2010
travelbug17

WONDERFUL! I just read the singles edition as well, and whoa, it’s really neat!
I gave it to my boyfriend to read, so that we can grow closer to each other through our God-given qualities//languages. 🙂

10 03 2010
southrnsuga

Hi there! Wasn’t the book amazing? I tell almost everyone I meet about it and how spot on it is about people and relating to them. So glad to know I am not alone in this boat!

Leave a Reply

