What To Do With That Leftover Eggnog

28 12 2009

I must admit, not a big fan of the eggnog. I’ll have my traditional one glass during the Christmas season, but the rest of it sits, unused in the refrigerator.

One year, upon hosting a dinner party, and realizing I was out of milk halfway through making my cornbread.

Now I know cornbread isn’t supposed to be sweet, but why not? We love sweet things, we find a way to make everything else sweet! Why not bread?

So, I used what I had left of the eggnog in the fridge. It was delicious. One of those substitutions that work out better so that you never want to make it any way again. Yum!

But inevitably, you’ll have some of that ‘nog left over, so here are a few recipes to help you make the most of those last dregs of Christmas cheer.

Eggnog Butter Cake from Cooks.com (anything with “butter in the title)

Eggnog Cookies from C D Kitchen

Eggnog Ice Cream from the Food Network (I’m trying this, stat!)

Eggnog Latte from Eggnog Info website (looks just as good as Starbucks!)

Eggnog Pie from AllRecipes

(P.S. – You can always freeze eggnog in ice cube trays to use throughout the year. Once they’re frozen, pop them out of the ice molds, and place them in a freezer zip bag and they’ll last up to a year. Holiday treats all winter long! Just in time for the next batch of eggnog to show up in your grocery!)

My favorite eggnog moment.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

