Southern Voice

10 12 2009

I suppose I’d better make a confession to y’all. You see, I don’t really like country music. Gasp! I know. A southern girl who doesn’t swoon for Kenny, George, or Garth – unthinkable.

Now don’t get me wrong. I like the classic stuff — Tanya Tucker, Johnny Cash, a little Dolly now and then. I mean, I spent a good part of my life in Nashville, but for some reason, most of it either just makes me laugh, or cry and I don’t really like all that much sap coming from my radio driving down the road.

But don’t get me wrong. I know a lot of folks love it, and I’m certainly not here to tell you it’s all bad (I can listen to Rascal Flatts croon all day long).

I will tell you there is something about Tim McGraw that makes me nostalgic, so I have a soft spot for him.

At home and sick not too long ago, I heard Mr. McGraw on the Today Show, and was actually impressed with the songs he performed from the new album. So, I downloaded it from iTunes, and I will say, it’s pretty good folks.

If you’re looking for a last minute Christmas present, or just a respite for yourself with all the Jingle Bells playing, this is just the ticket.

The title song, Southern Voice, is really fantastic, chronicling all those things we’ve all grown up with and love. My favorite line from the song is, “Jesus is my friend, America is my home, Sweet iced tea and Jerry Lee… that’s what gets to me.”

Great line, great song.

Most of the other songs are fantastic too. There’s a few little themes here and there that I’ll disagree with Mr. McGraw on (or his songwriters, rather), but for the most part, the album is a nice, mellow, but upbeat. Most of the numbers are a slower tempo, with only a couple songs to rock to. I tend to love a nice, slow ballad, especially as the weather is cool and I am more mellow this time of year, so you’ll find just-right ballads in several of the songs with themes concerning family, growing up, and love, of course.

I’ll highly recommend this to all you SIT readers out there, whether or not you usually turn the dial on your radio to country or classic, I was happily pleased, and think you would be too. Give it a try. Let me know what you think.

Any other great albums, country or not, recently released that we should try?

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 12 2009
dzheatherb

I heard the title track on the CMAs (ACMs? can’t remember now…) and LOVED it. Great song for us Southerners!!

1 04 2010
The Blind Side « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] will recognize neighbors and friends in Sandra Bullocks Oscar-wining performance, and our own Tim McGraw as the […]

Leave a Reply

