What to Do With All Those Extra Christmas Cards

30 11 2009

Unfortunately, I’m embarrased to tell y’all that I’ve just been informed that this is a hoax and if cards or packages are sent to that address, they will be discarded. If you would like to send holiday greetings to a soldier, then a better way to do it is through the American Red Cross program, “Holiday Mail for Heroes”. All cards must be postmarked by Monday, December 7, 2009. Here are some related links:

Holiday Mail for Heroes info via Red Cross: http://redcrosschat.org/2009/10/27/holiday-mail-for-heroes-2/

 

Inevitably, I will wind up with 2 or 3 extra Christmas cards, that end up in my stationary drawer, never to be used again. Every year, I say that next year, I’ll just send out a random conglomeration of all those misfits that didn’t get used in years of Christmas past. After all, no one will remember, right? But then the next year comes along, I find a box of beautiful cards that I’d like to send to all my friends and family, buy 10 boxes of 10, even though I only have 98 friends, and send them away. Throw the extra 2 cards in my drawer, and the vicious cycle continues.

 

But not this year. This year, I plan to get rid of all those extras in the stationary draw, along with spreading some Christmas cheer besides. How will I do this, you ask? (And I’m so glad you did…) No, not by framing or hanging or decoupaging anything (who has time for that between cooking and cleaning and shopping and watching the endless supply of movies The 25 Days of Christmas provides us with?).

 

This year, I plan to mail an extra card or two to those who defend and protect us every day, our American Soldiers. It’ll only cost you $0.42, and bring them a smile and a hope and good cheer. Or let your children sit down with a pile of paper, some crayons, and give you the greatest gift of all—twenty free minutes to cook, or clean, or watch the last half of The Christmas List on ABC Family.

 

 

Here’s the address:

A Recovering American Soldier

c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center

6900 Georgia Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20307-5001

 

_______________________________________________

 

Snopes article about the Walter Reed Hospital hoax: http://www.snopes.com/politics/christmas/walterreed.asp

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

