Thanks, From a Grateful Heart

26 11 2009

This year I am thankful for so many things. I know, as with all of y’all who grew up in the South, I’m thankful for those obvious and regular things that most of us grew up not even noticing. I have a roof over my head each night, a comfortable bed to sleep in, and a warm meal most anytime I please. I have a job, that while most days feels like a job, it’s full of great people doing a great work, and we shouldn’t take for granted the ability and opportunity to work. I’m healthy. I have a wonderful church family. I have a wonderful Dad, Lady (mom), sister, brother-in-law, FIL, MIL, and SIL (and two puppy-nephews). I have a wonderful husband, who sacrifices every day to fight for our American freedoms that we enjoy. I’m very proud and thankful for him.

I’m also so grateful to you, our readers and mostly, our friends. We get to share what makes us smile every day with someone, so we’re grateful for that. And I’m thankful for my dear friend, Becky – my partner in Sweet Iced Tea shenanigans. For being the other half of my brain (y’all don’t even know; it’s scary sometimes!), for enduring my stops every hour on roadtrips, and for bringing me pumpkin doughnuts! A dear friend, and a great Southerner.

 

So, gosh, in listing all these “typical” things I’m thankful for, I’m overwhelmed. A friend of mine used to say that if God never gave another blessing, ever again, she had been given enough up to this point to be grateful forever. What a humble and grateful attitude.

 

It’s so easy to get busy. And it’s so easy to complain about this or that trivial matter. And I know it’s genuinely been a tough year for some folks. But I’m guessing if these words are finding their way to your screen today, you’ve been given so many of the same blessings I enjoy. So let’s make a point to not just celebrate a Thanksgiving holiday, but to posture ourselves in a way that is truly thankful.

 

What are y’all thankful for? Let’s remember these today, and every other day.

 

Warmly,

Ginger

 

P.S. – Stay tuned tomorrow for the official start of the Christmas season!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

