Road Trip Feature: Erin Austen Abbott

13 11 2009

Fall Trip 2009 104

Over the past few years my family began the most interesting process of beekeeping.  Since this time, there have been stings, harvests, and the most delicious honey.  On our fall trip around the south we met Erin Austen Abbott in her store, Amelia in Oxford, Mississippi.  To my amazement, Erin had these beautiful shots of beehives on the walls of her store.  With a simple inquiry and even further excitement, we found out that Erin herself was indeed the photographer. 

Below is the last segment of our interview with Erin.  I know you will enjoy these photos and appreciate the sheer simplicity, and creativity and also be reminded that bees are amazing insects! All of the pictures below are from Erin and she can be reached at erinaustenabbott@gmail.com for details.

Q:While shopping in your store I was overwhelmed by the beautiful beehive photographs, which as it turns out, you took yourself.  How did you decide to start a portfolio of beehives photos?  Is there anywhere you are hoping to take pictures of other beehives?

Well, thank you first off for your kind words with regards to my photography. When I start a new body of work, I sort-of become engrossed in the project. It becomes like the hunt in a thrift store for the perfect Pyrex bowl, just for example. I seek out a subject matter that leaves me searching. My last body of work was tornado shelters throughout Mississippi. I began a search and found dozens and dozens.

Erin's Bees 3

With that said, I once heard about how in New York City, local honey was sold and that each batch tasted different depending on which borough it came from. I was hooked. I had to know more. I began getting these images in my mind of a hive on a rooftop with the whole city behind them. I found some beekeepers and flew up to take their pictures. I am proud to say, I shot that image that I saw in my mind while starting this series. I say starting because I do have plans to shoot more. On my honeymoon in Paris this spring, I’m hoping to take some there, and in San Francisco and Chicago.  I have plans to take some rooftop beekeeper photos there as well. It’s definitely an ongoing project.

Erin's Bees 1

Erin's Bees 2

Thank you Erin for sharing your amazing photograhps, Amelia and your home with us!

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 12 2009
Road Trip Re-Cap « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] Erin Austen Abbott […]

23 04 2010
4 08 2010
Amelia Presents « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] On my visit to Amelia Presents I was overwhelmed upon seeing two striking photos of rooftop bee hives.  My love for bees and bee hives has been featured here  (and here) several times.  Upon inquiring about the photos, I was even more impressed to know that Erin Austen Abbott was herself the photographer.  With a series of bee hive photos from across the country and world, this is an impressive portfolio.  Not to mention, Erin’s work also includes photos of faces, and Americana pieces echoing that of William Eggleston (also from Mississippi) where the subjects are ordinary, but the color and photos are spectacular.  […]

18 10 2010
One Night Stand at the Ole Miss Motel « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] Kirkpatrick (the newly married Erin Austen Abbott) is the creative force behind this idea and the store Amelia Presents in Oxford.  In years past, […]

14 12 2010
Afterschool Oxford featuring…. « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] Check out the Sweet Iced Tea feature on the blog, Afterschool Oxford.  We simply think the best of Erin Kirkpatrick, blogger, owner of Amelia Presents in Oxford, Mississippi, creator of One Night Stand at the Ole Miss Hotel, and incredible photographer. […]

26 10 2011
One Night Stand, A Motel Art Show in Oxford, MS « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] you are here, check out Erin’s featured work, shop Amelia Presents, blog, and home.  Good luck this weekend Erin! GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", […]

Leave a Reply

