Labor Day: Watermelon

3 09 2009
Watermelon Graita picture from www.sunset.com. Sliced Watermelon picture from www.marthastewart.com

Watermelon Graita picture from http://www.sunset.com. Sliced Watermelon picture from http://www.marthastewart.com

While fall does not officially start until September 22nd, Labor Day Weekend seems to mark the end of summer and the beginning of school.  With the end of summer drawing near, as in four days, I am almost a bit panicky.  I ransacked my closet the other day to ensure I wore all of my summer outfits at least once.  Now I am thinking about all of the summer food soon to be out of season and what I can cram into one holiday weekend.  Of all the summer foods I love, watermelon is dear to my heart and yet I barely ate any this year.  Shame on me. 

Plan of attack for the weekend, watermelon galore! Did you know that there are over 200 varieties of watermelon in the United States? That is a whole lot of watermelon and does it all taste good? The South Carolina Watermelon Board (yes, it exists) website lists the most common varieties we see here in the South and even lists a few yummy recipes. 

If you plan to entertain this holiday weekend, sliced watermelon is great table décor, a wonderful dessert and can even entertain the kiddies (or adults) with a seed spitting contest. 

Here are a few of my favorite watermelon thoughts:

-A hot day at the beach and after a salty swim and the first bit of cold, cold    watermelon. 

Watermelon granita.

Watermelon and feta salad – the combination of salty and sweet is      enlightening and Sunday Suppers has a great recipe.

-Watermelon and Ribs – after a meal of ribs and sticky fingers, watermelon  is the perfect palette cleanser.

Actions

Information

One response

4 09 2009
Labor Day: Watermelon « Sweet Iced Tea China Best Tea

[…] Original post: Labor Day: Watermelon « Sweet Iced Tea […]

Leave a Reply

