Find Your Summer Theme Song

25 06 2009

It is high time we posted something about music. 

Music, among other things, is the core of my existence.  I live and breathe for good music.  Don’t you just love hearing your favorite song on the radio? Or perhaps even better is when your iPod is on shuffle mode, the first few notes of “the song” begin to play and you pretty much could jump out of your seat, or excitedly roll down the windows and hope to share in the glory with fellow drivers.  Today, I had one such experience while driving to work. 

Ok, my Summer Theme song is not really Southern, but I simply love Coldplay’s “Strawberry Swing.”  The tantalizing intro forces me to smile and shrug my shoulders to the beat.  The song “brings me round, now my feet won’t touch the ground,” and I find myself happy, and loving every little note and second of this song. 

To list all possible summer theme songs, would be nearly impossible, but I can come up with a few southern tunes.  At least, I can come up with a few classics, and ones that tickle my fancy. Here they are in no particular order: 

1)      “Oh,  Atlanta” – Alison Krauss

2)      “Graceland” – Paul Simon

3)      “Memphis”- Chuck Berry

4)      “ Chattahoochee” – Alan Jackson

5)      “Home” – Marc Broussard

6)      “Southern Accent” – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (a bit slower than the others, but sooo good)

7)      “Tennessee” – Arrested Development (this is so 6th grade summer camp)

8)      “Dance, Dance, Dance” – Steve Miller Band

9)      “Down in Mississippi and Up to No Good” – Sugarland

10)   “Stars Align” – Virginia Coalition

Here a few of the classics:

1)       “Ode to Billy Joe” – Bobbie Gentry

2)      “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” – Charlie Daniels

3)      “Sweet Home Alabama” – Lynyrd Skynyrd

4)      “Midnight Train to Georgia” – Gladys Knight

5)      “Deep in the Heart of Texas’ – Gene Autry (who doesn’t love to clap?)

Finding your summer theme song might be the perfect antidote to the humidity blues.  If I think of my life, there are so many songs forever connected with my memories, hopefully your song will bring good memories in years ahead. 

What is your summer theme song?

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 10 2009
Road Trip with Sweet Iced Tea « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] be bringing you highlights of our favorite points of the trip. Of course, through all the iPod playlists, references to the map, and snack breaks, we were thinking of you, friends and […]

16 04 2012
Sweet Home WHERE? « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] What’s your favorite Southern anthem? […]

Leave a Reply

