Home to Mitford

25 06 2008

“He left the coffee-scented warmth of the Main Street Grill and stood for a moment under the green awning.”

Now if that charming image doesn’t make you want to curl up with a blanket on a rainy afternoon and read a book, I don’t know what will. So begins our introduction to a character I hope many of you have the pleasure of knowing, Father Tim of Mitford. I’m sure many of you are familiar with the Mitford Series by Jan Karon, but if any of you are not, please allow me to introduce you.

I first became familiar with the series in high school, while working at a local bookstore. At the time, Mrs. Karon had only published a few of the books, but I read all I could get my hands on one summer on a family vacation. Then, along with many men and women around the world, waited, as every year another installment of the beloved Mitford community was released.

This series of nine novels centers around the quiant village of Mitford, whose array of charming characters include generous and opinionated Miss Sadie Baxter, simple and loving Uncle Billy, meddling Emma, and of course his dog Barnabas, adopted son Dooley, and pretty (and single!) neighbor Cynthia.

As I mentioned Monday, I came on vacation armed with a “stackful” of books (all conveniently held in my new Kindle!), and just had to reread at least a few of the beloved Mitford series. It’s not often that I reread a book–there are so many great books in the world just dying to be read that it sometimes feels a waste to reread something, but not these. It’s a simple indulgence for me on vacation, but I always find it worthwhile to return to this small fictional Carolina mountain town.

I’ve happily recommended these to friends, colleagues, in-laws, grandparents. And now I heartily recommend these delightful books to you. Grab one on your way to Independence Day weekend vacation next week!

What Southern books do you go back to time and time again?

Actions

Information

One response

30 11 2009
Hanging of the Green « Sweet Iced Tea

[…] first heard of this while reading my beloved Mitford books, and got a glimpse for this Southern Baptist Belle into the world of our brother […]

Leave a Reply

