Kentucky Pie Bars

4 05 2012

May Day Pie, Pegasus Pie, Thoroughbred Pie — just don’t call it the “D” word.

You see, the Kern family, of Melrose Inn created the pie in the 1950’s and still owns and actively protects the name and the exact secret recipe. But a chocolate, pecan, and bourbon pie by any other name still tastes as delicious.

This year, since I’m celebrating the Derby outside my homestate, traveling in South Carolina, I still wanted my taste of you-know-what pie. So I decided to see if I could turn this classic pie into portable bars.

Here’s what you’ll need:

A recipe for your favorite pie crust

1 1/2 sticks softened butter

1 1/2 cups sugar

3 eggs

3/4 cup flour

a good pinch of salt

a splash of bourbon (optional)

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

1 1/2 cups pecans (some swear by walnuts, but I’m a pecan girl… use whatever you like).

Preheat your oven to 350. Then line a deep baking pan with your pie crust. Separately mix together the pie ingredients — butter, sugar, eggs, flour, salt, bourbon, chocolate, and nuts and pour it into your baking dish, spreading it evenly over the pie crust. Then just bake for about 20 – 25 minutes.

Keep your eye on this, as you just want a golden crust forming on top.  We’re aiming for gooey pie-like bars, not crunchy here. I wish I could eat warm with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream, but they’re just as good at room temperature.

Cut into big ol’ squares, and wrap tightly and they’ll keep up to a week, but I’m guessing they won’t last that long if you’re anything like me.

For more inspiration for your Derby day party, check out some other Kentucky recipes for your menu:

Kentucky Hot Brown

Burgoo

Mint Julep Iced Tea

Bourbon Balls

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 05 2012
Ally Garner

Did you know that first time I’d ever heard of a Kentucky Hot Brown was on your blog? I drooled looking at the pics you posted & made one for myself that weekend. I’ve been hopelessly hooked ever since! ;) So obviously, I will be making these bars this weekend. They look scrumptious – just like the original Derby Pie.

I hope y’all had an incredible week in Charleston!! And thank you so much for the Hominy Grill tweet, Ginger. That tickled me to death, haha :)

8 05 2012
Ginger

I’m so glad to have introduced anyone to the delicious hot brown. They were a regular quick-night supper at our house growing up! Yum!

15 03 2013
Audrey Simon

what size pan?

16 03 2013
Ginger

Hi, Audrey! Good question… I made mine in a 9 x 13 inch pan, but if you wanted them even thicker (and gooier) you could use an 8 x 8 pan and bake them a minute or two longer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

