Austin, Texas Farmer’s Market Experience

3 05 2011

One of the highlights of visiting a city like Austin, Texas is the enthusiasm over food. However, we are not just talking about any old meal which might come off the assembly line in other cities, but rather produce, and protein from the farm to the table. All of this enthusiasm develops a demand for organic food, and restaurants unable to supply simply do not survive in Austin.  Even the countless food carts in Austin offer a listing of all of the farms from where their ingredients originate. 

With all of this in mind, just imagine the downtown farmer’s market on a Saturday morning. Folks prepared with grocery lists for the week track down their favorite produce or beef or chicken stand or grab a bite to eat at one of the many tents offering hot food.   It is a madhouse and a rush to ensure you do not miss out on the limited quantities.  After an hour or so of hustle and bustle you will find groups enjoying live music or performances, maybe even a couple of people dancing, children running across the fields, a one man band, and trash bins organized and watched to ensure that your garbage goes to either, trash, compost, or recyclable.

Like my last visit to Austin, I was on a mission to make it to the Dai Due tent at the market.  Knowing the menu ahead of time (because I get their weekly emails), I had nothing on my mind but Nopales, Chorizo and Egg Tacos with Garlic Salsa.  Your mouth is watering, right? Nopales are made from a prickly pear cactus and delicious!!!  Dai Due is an interesting business. It is not quite a restaurant because they are just a tent at the farmer’s market, and they host supper club dinners at various outdoor locations throughout the city. It is not a culinary school either, even though they offer culinary courses throughout the year.   Their diverse business plan just fascinates me. I had a taco, purchased grapefruit worcestershire sauce to take home, and ohh’d and ahhh’d over their country pate, and salt pork available for purchase.

Overall this is a great people watching spot and a good way to grasp the energy of the city.

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 05 2011
Austin Americana Photography

Farmers Markets are awesome. Just got word that our Farmer’s market on Burnet Road (in Austin) is re-opening and having a grand opening this week. Can’t wait to check it out!

3 05 2011
southrnsuga

oh! I will have to check that one out on my next trip! thanks much.

7 05 2011
Meghan Hokom Stapleton

I recently discovered Austin’s food trucks. Love them! I can’t remember the name of the taco one, but I had the Dirty Sanchez. It was one of the best tacos I have EVER had in my life!

I started following your blog b/c I missed Jacksonville after moving back to Houston. Glad you made it out to our parts and introduced me to some new adventures in my home state. Hope you enjoyed your visit!

10 05 2011
southrnsuga

Awww…well, Thanks for reading the blog. We are glad to have you with us.
I did enjoy Austin and need to get out to the rest of the state now!
Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

