Gather ‘Round the Campfire

2 06 2010

Photo from Silver Tears Campers

Ever since I saw this camper in Garden & Gun magazine, I’ve had this strange urge to go camping. Please don’t get me wrong. I am NOT an outdoor girl. Wish I was. But it’s just not in my blood.

Husband and I went to Lake Tahoe this weekend, the mountain/hiking/skiing/swimming capitol of the west, and about the most outdoorsy thing we did was drive for a day trip to Reno to go to the outdoor shopping mall. (Come on! You don’t pass up 300 stores to look at some trees!) Though we did order s’mores for dessert one night at the hotel’s restaurant, which consisted of dining out on the deck, roasting your own marshmallows over a firepit.

Every year when I was a kid though, my Eagle Scout of a dad took me and my sister camping at the beginning of each summer, so there’s been no shortage of hot dogs, s’mores and cherry pies cooked around the campfire in my family.

There’s just something about the coming of summer, especially in the South, that just makes you want to grab a sleeping bag and sit out under the stars with perhaps a good friend playing the guitar.

I just don’t think I’ll be joining the wild woods any time soon, unless I decide to pitch a tent in my backyard (or build a fort in my living room!), so in the meantime, I’m grabing the graham crackers, marshmellows, and chocolate frosting from my pantry, turning on the gas stove, and taking matters into my own hands!

A perfect way to relive the memories until that outdoor bug bites again!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 06 2010
The Florida Blogger

I’m very much a camper. I love it. Unfortunately, I recently sold my VW van and am relegated to a tent, which wouldn’t be so bad except for the 80 degree nights in Central and South Florida.

2 06 2010
Ginger

Sooo jealous. I’m desperate to own an airstream someday! It’s a lifelong dream to travel around the country like a turtle — with my home on my back. Imagine! No unpacking, no bathroom stops! Sounds like the life. Though there is something to be said about REALLY feeling like you’re camping in a tent.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

