Breakfast Food: Doughnuts + Bacon = Bacon Doughnuts

30 04 2010

Image from Serious Eats

Yum. I mean, yum! When I saw this, I about died.

There is almost nothing I like better than doughnuts. Except maybe bacon. I mean, breakfast is good enough without just stopping my heart right here (and eating these, I just might — but if I’m gonna have a last meal, right?).

Ever since I had that bacon waffle, I’ve been dreaming up all sorts of sweet things I can put savory bacon in. Next time you have a little extra (yeah right) bacon, crumble it up, place it in a ziplock bag in your fridge or freezer, and keep for just such occasions. Since we were already talking about donuts, I thought… why not?

Turns up, they are popping up all over the place – in resturants not just in the South, but all over the country, Food Network’s “The Best Thing I Ever Ate,” a Facebook fan page, even Wikipedia!

It is literally, and possibly mentally, not healthy how much I think about bacon. Ok, so I’m about drooling over these things. I can say no more. (Don’t really have to, do I?)

Actions

Information

One response

3 05 2010
Sarah

That picture is the Elvis Donut!! (peanut butter with bacon) Its my favorite one at my favorite breakfast/lunch place here in Athens, GA called Ike & Jane. If you’re ever in the area, they have the most amazing donuts/coffee/muffins/sandwiches. Ever had a donut with fruity pebbles on top? Reese’s cup crumbles? Pistachios?
http://www.ikeandjane.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

