Road Trip Feature: Amelia and Erin Austen Abbott, part 2

12 11 2009

Amelia 1

In continuation with our  feature of Amelia and Erin Austen Abbott, today we talk to Erin about the shop and the carryover from home to work and work to home.

Q: Your store, Amelia, was full of an assortment of items, from handmade cards to home decor and even soda.  How did you/do you decide what type of image you want to project at your store? And, if applicable, do the items available in your store reflect your personal style?

A: Well, when I walk into store, I am drawn to the items that I can’t get anywhere else. I look for individuality. I also look for clean lines of the store. Good design. A “busy” store loses me and I can’t decide where to focus. Aesthetics are so important. I also wanted you to feel like you were walking into a vintage apothecary but for cupcakes, with tiny cupcake toppers and cookie cutters in jars, lining a shelf.

As for my personal style, I’ve been told by many that Amelia feels like another room of my house. So, yes the store reflects my personal style for sure. I love vintage everything, mostly the 50’s.

Erin was gracious enough to share pictures of her beautiful home with us.  What a treat! All pictures below are from Erin. 

erin's house 3

erin's house 1

erin's house 2

Tomorrow will feature Erin’s most amazing photographs which consists of a project that is near and dear to my heart.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 12 2009
Road Trip Re-Cap « Sweet Iced Tea

[...] Amelia and Erin Austen Abbott, Part 2 [...]

26 10 2011
One Night Stand, A Motel Art Show in Oxford, MS « Sweet Iced Tea

[...] you are here, check out Erin’s featured work, shop Amelia Presents, blog, and home.  Good luck this weekend Erin! GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

