Alabama Week: Hot and Hot Fish Club

15 07 2009
Chef's Table at Hot and Hot Fish Club, picture courtesy of USA Today

Chef's Table at Hot and Hot Fish Club, picture courtesy of USA Today

You might find me silly to love food as much as I do, but honestly, I can think of very few things which I love more (previous posts might claim otherwise).  On a recent trip with Ginger to Birmingham, Alabama, I was on my own for an evening and decided to hit the town.  Now, please let me take a detour and discuss the importance of scouting restaurants in new cities.  As this was my first trip to Birmingham, I did a little internet research, found my destination and was not disappointed.  A little research prior to travelling will not prevent all mishaps, but you sure can try!

To my excitement, the research paid off as I dined at Hot and Hot Fish Club’s chef counter in Birmingham’s Southside.   I will be forthright, and tell you that you will absolutely love this restaurant.

Resting in a sea of amber lighting, and surrounded by handmade ceramic bowls holding the evening’s mis en place, the chef’s counter was exquisite.  Here one can watch the various menu items prepared with care, while feasting on your own fabulous meal. 

It is interesting to be a young, southern, woman dining alone.  I must confess that I while I am not opposed to dining alone, it simply does not happen too often.  In my moment of independence, I was able to enjoy my other favorite hobby, people watching.  One group in particular could not understand my reason for venturing out alone and called me “brave.”  I now laugh knowing it was anything but brave.  Perhaps gluttonous?  I joined in on much of the conversation around me and even met a former fashion executive who worked for the Gucci Group, but returned to her home in Birmingham to teach. 

Tomato Appetizer from Hot and Hot Fish Club

Tomato Appetizer from Hot and Hot Fish Club

My first course included the popular menu item of tomatoes, but this was anything but ordinary.  The stacked tomatoes rested on a bed of fresh peas, corn, and were accompanied by apple wood bacon, fried okra and a chive aioli (the recipe is now available online).  After the tomatoes, I feasted on a mixed greens salad with a cherry dressing, for which the benevolent chef adding a piece of foie gras at my bidding.  Mind you, during the entire experience I also paired each course with a new wine or cocktail. 

The foie gras was simply a tease as the piece de resistance, the oven roasted young chicken with chanterelle mushroom risotto, parmesan cheese and truffle oil was delectable.  My evening was complete with the ice cream trio, but now I wish there had been room for the pistachio glazed, blackberry jam and chocolate-orange glazed donuts. 

The food soared above the mundane and ordinary to reassure me that the 2008 James Beard nomination for chef Chris Hastings was well deserved, and hopefully will encourage you on your next trip to visit Birmingham and Hot and Hot Fish Club

On my next visit, I hope to stop by Hot and Hot Fish Club to partake in their seasonal menu, and perhaps even grab some of the summer selections of pickled okra and boiled peanuts at the bar.

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 10 2009
Bham Central

Hey there. Hot and Hot is probably my favorite restaurant in Birmingham. The heirloom tomato salad was wonderful. Here are some picks I took on a visit there earlier this year:

Hot and Hot Fish Club

Also… I just got a copy of the cook book Chris Hastings put out that has a bunch of the H&H recipes… cool stuff! All the best… stay sweet! :-)

~Harris Reynolds

2 02 2010
Lost Pictures of Alabama « Sweet Iced Tea

[...] of those memories include Zelda Fitzgerald, and Hot and Hot Fish Club [...]

19 12 2010
Happy Birthday, Birmingham! « Sweet Iced Tea

[...] & Hot Fish Club – We’ve written about Hot & Hot before, so you know it’s good. Their food is memorable, fresh, and Southern. Oh, and delicious. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

